Sitios asociados:EURESELA

About Canary Islands

Canary Islands have around 2 million inhabitants. Their main cities are Santa Cruz de Tenerife (around 207.000 inhabitants) and Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (382.000 inhabitants). There are two public universities, located on the two main islands: the University of La Laguna, Tenerife, and the University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria. Between them, the two centres have around  50.000 students registered, of which over the half were studying scientific or technical subjects, that means a very interesting pool of talent. The islands also offer a strong network of vocational training centres specialized in different subjects coordinated by the regional ministries of Education and  Employment. There are also training centres combining the teaching of more traditional careers with new technologies. It is important to remember that, although the official language is Spanish, English and German are widely spoken specially in all the activities related with hostelry and IT.

Las Palmas city panorama